Are Lutherans generally not Calvinistic?

Is Calvinism taught in the Bible? Does man have free-will? Can a Christian apostatize? Discuss all related questions here.

Moderator: grand_puba

m273p15c

Are Lutherans generally not Calvinistic?

Post by m273p15c » Fri Feb 22, 2008 4:34 pm

I skimmed parts of your web-site and noted that you were not Calvinist. FWIW, I too am not Calvinistic:

http://www.insearchoftruth.org/articles ... #calvinism

I am just curious if most modern Lutherans are like you, in that they too are adamantly opposed to Calvinism.

Many thanks,

m273p15c--
May God help us to love truth sincerely and supremely (II Thessalonians 2:11-12)

email
Non-Member

Re: Are Lutherans generally not Calvinistic?

Post by email » Fri Feb 22, 2008 4:48 pm

Thanks for your message.

Just as is the case within the large general "tent" that is known as "Calvinism" or "Reformed" there are all kinds of people who call themselves Lutheran.

I am a pastor in a church called The Lutheran Church--Missouri Synod. Our church began here in the USA in 1847 as a result of German immigrants who came to America to escape being forced into a merger of Calvinism and Lutheranism in the lands of Prussia, that was ordered by the King of Prussia in 1817. As a result, our founding fathers realized that the only way they could remain true to their identify as Lutherans was to leave. Our theological roots go directly back to Martin Luther in Saxony and we are very much committed to the Lutheran faith as it is set forth in what is called "The Book of Concord." And hence, yes, we still believe what is set forth as our confession of the faith in that book; consequently, our Synod would be the most close to the historic Lutheran rejections of various beliefs of Calvinism.

You can read more about why we are opposed to Calvinism by consulting the Book of Concord, which I'm pleased to tell you is available for free at www.bookofconcord.org