christianity vs. self help

Ask moral related questions. What things are right and wrong? What should we do and not do?

Moderator: grand_puba

drummernick

christianity vs. self help

Post by drummernick » Tue Jan 10, 2006 9:57 am

I'm a drummer who is fascinated by the topic of self help. I have read the two leading books on the suject: "Psychocybernetics" by Dr. Maxwell Maltz and "Unlimited Power" by Tony Robbins. After reading these manuals for self transformation, I found hard to believe these men are doing the devil's work. Still many christians I have talked to believe that they are in fact working for Satan. Aren't we given gifts from God such as musical inspiration, physical abilities etc.? And what about the studies done on people who use meditation, self-hypnosis and subliminal suggestion? Is it wrong to tap into these extra abilities or powers which we do possess but rarely use? Or are they like the tree of knowledge? Even though we have access to it, we should not use it lest we suffer the consequences. My personal interest in these techniqies is for more flowing musical creativity, consistent performance, and accelerated learning. I know that the saying "God helps those who help themselves" is NOT in the Bible, but wouldn't our Father want us to fare well in this world especially if Satan has been given dominion over it? I don't know if this is true but wasn't lucifer God's musician? This makes me wonder if my musical path is a righteous one. I'm interested in any feedback on the subject, especially on the aforementioned authors.

Live long and prosper

m273p15c

depends...

Post by m273p15c » Sat Jan 14, 2006 11:52 pm

You have asked a lot of interesting questions here. Please allow me to answer them one at a time: