Is giving a mandated act of worship?

Do you have questions about the nature, work, purpose, or pattern for the church? This is the place to share your thoughts and questions with others.

Moderator: grand_puba

email
Non-Member

Is giving a mandated act of worship?

Post by email » Mon Dec 06, 2010 8:19 am

I have a friend who I am studying with- she believes giving as an act of worship is not a command necessarily to be followed. She believes giving is commanded but as far as on the first day of the week that is just an expedient way to give. She contends 1Cor. 16 was written specifically to them until Paul came through to collect the offering and 2cor 8 and 9 make it clear that giving is the point not when you give. She is not against giving on the Lord's day but as a means of expediency not command. Thanks for you time.
The above presented views do not necessarily represent any specific individual, registered on this forum or otherwise.
Who is "email"?

larry

RE: giving

Post by larry » Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:38 pm

Thanks for visiting insearchoftruth.org. I will try to provide you some information I hope will be useful to you in your studies with your friend.

If I understand correctly, your friend believes giving is taught in the Scriptures, but her issue is "when should the giving occur?" That is a question that has been much discussed and also formally debated. So, one can get a varying number of opinions.

Since giving is accepted as a command, it seems to me the main issue is one of Bible authority. Of course, Bible authority is a subject on which volumes have been written.